AFCON 2019: South Africa’s Final Squad Announced

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter names his final 23-man squad for AFCON 2019.

After a week’s camp, Baxter has trimmed the 30-man group to 23, with four players having missed out through unfortunate events.

Rivaldo Coetzee (mother’s illness), Keagan Dolly (injury), while Joel Untersee and Nikola Tavares (passports). Baxter therefore only dropped three players: Ben Motshwari, Fortune Makaringe and Kermit Erasmus.

Full squad:


Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Ronwen Williams (Supersport), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).


Daniel Cardoso (Chiefs), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), Sifiso Hlanti (Wits), Buhle Mkhawanazi (Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City).


Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Hlompho Kekana (Downs), Dean Furman (SS), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Tiyani Mabunda (Downs), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Themba Zwane (Downs)


Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal St Union), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta Rotterdam), Lebogang Maboe (Downs), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Downs).

South African kick off AFCON 2019 against Ivory Coast on June 24. But first will be two friendlies against Ghana and Angola.

See also  Ghana DOL Zone 1: 'My players must have qualification-winning mentality' - RTU Coach Shaibu Tanko


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here