AFCON 2019: Unattached Bony makes Ivory Coast final squad


Ibrahim Kamara, Head Coach of the senior national team of Cote D’ Ivoire has picked his final squad from a 28-man provisional list for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) to be staged in Egypt later this month.

Former Swansea and Manchester City striker Wilfried Bony, who is now unattached is set to play at his fifth Africa Cup of Nations after being named in Ivory Coast’s final 23-man squad after scoring two goals in their 3-1 victory over Comoros in a warm-up match.

It was Bony’s first match for the Elephants since the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon and he is currently without a club, after he was released by Swansea last month.

The 30-year-old was part of the Ivorian side that beat Ghana to win the 2015 Nations Cup in Equatorial Guinea.

Toulouse player Max-Alain Gradel, Aston Villa’s Jonathan Kodjia, Lyon’s Maxwell Cornet, Crystal Palace’s Wilfried Zaha and Lille’s Nicolas Pepe are all named in Ivory Coast’s list as are Tottenham’s Serge Aurier and Switzerland-based Serey-Die.

Uncapped France-born defender Souleymane Doumbia who plays for Rennes and was only added to the provisional list a few days ago, has also made the final squad.

The 23 players will travel to Abu Dhabi for the second part of their preparations where they will play warm-up games against Uganda on 14 June and Ethiopia four days later before they fly out to Egypt.

Ivory Coast are in pool D at Egypt 2019 and will face South Africa in their opening match on 24 June and will then lock horns with Morocco four days later before they play their final group game against Namibia on 1 July.

See also  CAF Awards: Mahrez, Mane and Salah on final shortlist

Ivory Coast final squad:

Goalkeepers: Sylvain Gbohouo (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Ali Badra (Free State Stars, South Africa), Tape Ira (FC San Pedro).

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Tottenham, England), Wilfried Kanon (ADO The Hague, Netherlands), Wonlo Coulibaly (ASEC Mimosas), Ismaël Traoré (Angers, France), Mamadou Bagayoko (Red Star, France), Cheikh Comara (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco), Souleyman Bamba (Rennes, France).

Midfielders: Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Mainz, Germany), Geoffrey Serey Dié (Neuchâtel Xamax, Switzerland), Jean-Michaël Seri (Fulham, England), Victorian Angban (Metz, France), Franck Kessié (AC Milan, Italy), Ibrahim Sangaré (Toulouse, France).

Forwards: Max-Alain Gradel (Toulouse, France), Nicolas Pépé (Lille, France), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace, England), Jonathan Kodjia (Aston Villa, England), Roger Assalé (Young Boys Bern, Switzerland), Maxwell Cornet (Lyon, France), Wilfried Bony (Unattached).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here