BREAKING: Messi wins record-extending seventh Ballon d’Or

Leo Messi - Getty Images
Leo Messi - Getty Images

It’s a record-extending seventh Ballon d’Or for Lionel Messi.

In his final season with Barcelona, Lionel Messi had another brilliant individual campaign despite Barca’s struggles.

As well as breaking Pele’s record of the most goals for one club, Messi became the first player in history to score at least 20 goals in 13 consecutive seasons in Europe’s top five leagues.

He also broke Gerd Muller’s record of scoring 30 plus goals in 12 consecutive club seasons, as well as surpassing Xavi’s record for most Barca appearances.

To top it off, he finally ended his wait for a first major international title as Argentina beat Brazil in the Copa America final.

The PSG forward was the previous winner of the award in 2019 as last year’s edition was cancelled because of Covid. Messi also won the Ballon d’Or in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski, who was the favourite to win the 2020 edition of the Ballon d’Or, came second in the vote.

See also  STUNNER! Man Utd open talks with minders for Atletico Madrid attacker Joao Felix


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here