CONFIRMED! New members of the Ghana Football Association Executive Council

GFA Elective Congress 2023
GFA Elective Congress 2023

The Ghana Football Association (GFA) on Thursday, October 5 elected new members that will form the new Executive Council.

The Elective Congress was held in Tamale at the Global Dreams Hotel.

Mr Kurt Okraku, who was the incumbent retained his position as the President of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) for the next four years.

His sole contender, George Afriyie was disqualified by the Elections Committee.

On the Executive Council, five candidates from the Premier League and three candidates from the Division One League were elected to form the new Executive Council members.

Former Black Stars head coach James Kwesi Appiah won one of the slots of the Executive Council when he polled 10 votes on the ticket of Asante Kotoko SC.

Frederick Acheampong was also re-elected for another four-year term on the Executive Council.

Dr Randy Abbey, who is a former communications director of the GFA and owner of Kpando Heart of Lions, was given another mandate to serve on the Council.

Other people who retained their seats include Oduro Sarfo and Bechem United administrator Kingsley Osei Bonsu after winning a second re-run between himself and Elleony Amande.

Meanwhile, Medeama SC Board Chairman, Dr. Tony Aubynn lost his seat on the Executive Council.

From the Division One League, Mark Addo, who doubles as the vice president of the FA retained his seat. The Koforidua Semper Fi bankroller gets the nod for another four-year term.

Akosombo Krystal Palace co-owner Gideon Fosu and former member of the Executive Committee of the Ghana League Clubs Association (GHALCA) Eugene Noel Nobel won the other slots from the Division One League.

See also  TODAY: Nike football release their first edition of the Dream Speed Mercurials

The Women’s Premier League representative was Gifty Oware-Mensah as she went unopposed and was confirmed after all 20 clubs overwhelmingly endorsed her as a new member of the Executive Council.

The newly elected members will hold their positions until 2026. They will hope to improve the standard of football in the country and see the various national teams perform.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here