EXPERIMENTAL SPANISH SUPER CUP: 4 participants, 3 games, dates confirmed


As the RFEF have officially announced, the Spanish Super Cup will be held in a “Final Four” format for the first time in the history of the competition.

Valencia and Barcelona, as champion and runner-up of the Copa del Rey; and Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid, as second and third teams of the previous La Liga season, will take part in the competition.

The semi-final draw will take place next Monday at the Luis Aragones assembly hall of The Football City in Las Rozas.

The semi-finals will be played on Wednesday, January 8 and Thursday, January 9, 2020. The final is scheduled for Sunday, January 12.

Since the establishment of the Supercopa de Espana in 1982, Barcelona have won the competition 13 times – more than any other team. Real Madrid are second on the list with 10 triumphs.

Source: RFEF
See also  Maurizio Sarri: Chelsea boss charged by FA after Burnley draw


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here