REVEALED: The new Ghana Premier League format


The 2020/21 Ghana Premier League has been scheduled to start on October 31 in an entirely different format.

The 2019/20 season was truncated due to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus.

Football in the West African country came to a standstill in mid-March and after a marathon meeting on June 30, the Executive Council announced the annulment of the season.

However, information gathered by Asempa Sports suggests that the 18 teams will be divided into two Zones, i.e., Northern Zone and Southern Zone.

Northern teams 

  • Asante Kotoko
  • Ashanti Gold
  • Aduana Stars
  • Berekum Chelsea
  • Bechem United
  • King Faisal
  • Medeama SC
  • Eleven Wonders
  • Legon Cities FC

Southern teams

  • Dreams FC
  • Karela United
  • Hearts of Oak
  • Accra Great Olympic
  • Elmina Sharks
  • Inter Allies
  • Ebusua Dwarfs
  • Liberty Professionals

This new calendar will help synchronize the Ghana Premier League with the European calendar.

Meanwhile, the transfer window opens on August 31 and ends on October 31.

Asante Kotoko and Ashgold have been given the nod to represent Ghana in the Caf inter-club competition next season.

Source: Asempa Sports

See also  Be innovative to attract sponsors, NRFA Chairman Alhaji Rhyzo to East Gonja Municipal FA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here