World Cup 2022 top scorers: Fernandes, Kudus and Cho net twice

Mohammed Kudus celebrates after doubling Ghana's advantage against South Korea
Mohammed Kudus celebrates after doubling Ghana's advantage against South Korea

Bruno Fernandes, Mohammed Kudus and Cho Gue-sung each scored twice for their countries to all open their accounts for the 2022 World Cup.

Fernandes was awarded Portugal’s first goal against Uruguay despite Cristiano Ronaldo initially claiming it before he netted from the spot to wrap up a 2-0 win.

Kudus and Cho each grabbed braces as Ghana came out on top against South Korea in a 3-2 win.

There were also goals for the likes of Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Aleksandar Mitrovic and Vincent Aboubakar as Serbia and Cameroon played out a thrilling 3-3 draw.

Casemiro also got his first goal of the tournament to give Brazil a narrow 1-0 win over Switzerland.

Ecuador’s Enner Valencia and France superstar Kylian Mbappe still lead the way on three goals for the tournament.

Along with Fernandes, Kudus and Cho, a host of other players sit behind the leaders with two goals: Argentina’s Lionel Messi, Dutchman Cody Gakpo, Brazil’s Richarlison, Spain’s Ferran Torres and Morata, France’s Olivier Giroud, England’s Bukayo Saka, Croatia’s Kramaric and Iran’s Mehdi Taremi.

Many have scored one goal at Qatar 2022, including Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Wales’ Gareth Bale.

Most goals in World Cup 2022

Player Nation Goals
Enner Valencia Ecuador 3
Kylian Mbappe France 3
Lionel Messi Argentina 2
Olivier Giroud France 2
Richarlison Brazil 2
Ferran Torres Spain 2
Bukayo Saka England 2
Cody Gakpo Netherlands 2
Mehdi Taremi Iran 2
Andrej Kramaric Croatia 2
Mohammed Kudus Ghana 2
Cho Gue-sung South Korea 2
Alvaro Morata Spain 2
Robert Lewandowski Poland 1
Piotr Zielinski Poland 1
Mitchell Duke Australia 1
Dani Olmo Spain 1
Marco Asensio Spain 1
Gavi Spain 1
Carlos Soler Spain 1
Enzo Fernandez Argentina 1
Michy Batshuayi Belgium 1
Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal 1
Rafael Leao Portugal 1
Casemiro Brazil 1
Joao Felix Portugal 1
Andre Ayew Ghana 1
Osman Bukari Ghana 1
Breel Embolo Switzerland 1
Adrien Rabiot France 1
Craig Goodwin Australia 1
Gareth Bale Wales 1
Timothy Weah USA 1
Davy Klaassen Netherlands 1
Jude Bellingham England 1
Raheem Sterling England 1
Jack Grealish England 1
Marcus Rashford England 1
Saleh Al-Shehri Saudi Arabia 1
Salem Al Dawsari Saudi Arabia 1
Ilkay Gundogan Germany 1
Ritsu Doan Japan 1
Rouzbeh Cheshmi Iran 1
Ramin Rezaeian Iran 1
Boulaye Dia Senegal 1
Famara Diedhou Senegal 1
Mohamed Salisu Ghana 1
Sergej Milinkovic-Savic Serbia 1
Aleksandar Mitrovic Serbia 1
Strahinja Pavlovic Serbia 1
Vincent Aboubakar Cameroon 1
Eric Maxim Chupo-Moting Cameroon 1
Jean-Charles Castelletto Cameroon 1
Bamba Dieng Senegal 1
Mohammed Muntari Qatar 1
Takuma Asano Japan 1
Romain Saiss Morocco 1
Niclas Fullkrug Germany 1
Zakaria Aboukhlal Morocco 1
Lovro Majer Croatia 1
Marko Livaja Croatia 1
Alphonso Davies Canada 1
Keysher Fuller Costa Rica 1
See also  Second batch of players for U-20 pre-selection exercise to begin camping on Sunday


The 2022 World Cup Golden Boot is set to be fiercely contested, with a host of top-class players in the running to finish top scorer.

England’s Harry Kane went into the World Cup as favourite to win the Golden Boot.

The Spurs striker finished top scorer at Russia 2018, finding the back of the net six times as England reached the semi-finals. He has been favoured this time around, too, with the Three Lions drawn in a modest group along with Iran, Wales and United States.

France won the 2018 World Cup, partly thanks to the brilliance of Kylian Mbappe. The PSG superstar is second favourite to become top-scorer in Qatar.

Karim Benzema was third favourite to win the Golden Boot but was ruled out of the tournament with injury just days before it got underway.

Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are both playing in their fifth World Cups, and will be looking to crown their legendary careers by not only winning the tournament but by also claiming the Golden Boot.

Other players to keep an eye on are Brazil’s Neymar, Belgium’s Romelu Lukaku, Holland’s Memphis Depay, Argentina’s Lautaro Martinez and Poland’s Robert Lewandowski.

Or could there be a surprise winner? In the past, we have seen a number of unheralded stars suddenly break out to finish top scorer in the World Cup. Good examples of this are Salvatore Schillaci for Italy in 1990, Oleg Salenko in 1994 (shared with Hristo Stoichkov), Thomas Muller in 2010 and even James Rodriguez in 2014.

This could open the door for a lesser-known player or even someone from a smaller nation who perhaps are not expected to win the World Cup.

See also  Inter Miami signing Leo Messi: When will I retire?

World Cup Golden Boot Winners

Tournament Player Goals
1930 Guillermo Stabile (Argentina) 8
1934 Oldrich Nejedly (Czechoslovakia) 5
1938 Leonidas (Brazil) 7
1950 Ademir (Brazil) 8
1954 Sandor Kocsis (Hungary) 11
1958 Just Fontaine (France) 13
1962 Six players* 4
1966 Eusebio (Portugal) 9
1970 Gerd Muller (West Germany) 10
1974 Grzegorz Lato (Poland) 7
1978 Mario Kempes (Argentina) 6
1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy) 6
1986 Gary Lineker (England) 6
1990 Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) 6
1994 Oleg Salenko (Russia) & Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) 6
1998 Davor Suker (Croatia) 6
2002 Ronaldo (Brazil) 8
2006 Miroslav Klose (Germany) 5
2010 Thomas Muller (Germany) 5
2014 James Rodriguez (Colombia) 6
2018 Harry Kane (England) 6

*The six players who all top-scored with four goals in 1962 were Florian Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (USSR), Vava and Garrincha (Brazil), Drazan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia) and Leonel Sanchez (Chile).

Germany legend Miroslav Klose is the World Cup all-time top scorer with 16 goals.

He is followed by Brazil legend Ronaldo with 15 goals, Gerd Muller with 14, Just Fontaine with 13 and Pele with 12.

That record is unlikely to be challenged in this World Cup.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here