They play! EPL clubs agree to DEFY FIFA and play banned South Americans

The South America players
The South America players

Premier League clubs are ready to defy FIFA and play their banned South American players this weekend.

There are 11 players due to be suspended from playing by FIFA after they failed to appear for their international sides when clubs refused to send them to red-list countries.

Liverpool, Manchester City and Chelsea were set to be the hardest hit following a backlash from South American nations who attempted to take revenge when top-flight clubs blocked their stars from travelling.

The Sun says Premier League cubs have agreed that they will not make any complaints if their rivals field those players that should be banned.

It comes after Premier League chief executive Richard Masters wrote to clubs and suggested a resolution is in sight on Wednesday.

FIFA invoked a ‘five-day’ restriction on those involved, which would include Liverpool‘s Brazilian trio Alisson, Fabinho and Roberto Firmino, opponents Leeds’s Raphinha, Manchester City‘s Ederson and Gabriel Jesus, Chelsea‘s Thiago Silva and Manchester United‘s Fred.

The other three players affected were Wolves striker Raul Jimenez of Mexico, Newcastle’s Paraguay forward Miguel Almiron and Watford‘s Francisco Sierralta, of Chile.

It was announced on Friday that Jimenez has been cleared to play for Wolves against Watford after the Mexican FA withdrew their complaint.

See also  CAF Champions League 2020/21: Asante Kotoko lose 1-0 to Al Hilal at home


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here